Review: My True Love Gave To Me

true

This is the book that I have been dying to read since I first saw it’s gorgeous cover!! My True Love Gave To Me is a compilation of 12 short stories that take place during the holiday season, and feature some of YA’s biggest authors including Rainbow Rowell, Jenny Han, Stephanie Perkins, and Gayle Forman! Needless to say, this book was like a Christmas dream come true for me! Of course, like any short story compilations, some of the stories were amazing and others were just okay. Overall, however, I really did enjoy this book, and I already have plans to purchase a copy for myself the next time I find myself in possession of a Chapters gift card! For those of you who are curious, read my mini reviews of each individual story below for more of my general thoughts (without spoilers)!

1. Midnights by Rainbow Rowell
This story was super cute, and definitely one of my favourites! I loved how Rowell had the story take place on New Years Eve over the course of four years. Plus, the two main characters were just so darn likeable! I did a little cheer and happy dance at the end.
5/5

2. The Lady and the Fox by Kelly Link
The writing in this story was really really good. I was really intrigued by the plot initially, but found myself confused and slightly disappointed by the ending. Maybe things would be clearer if I took some time to reread it again.
3/5

3. Angels in the Snow by Matt de la Pena
This was another cute story, and I really liked the main character Shy. The author did a fantastic job of giving him a memorable and unique voice, and Shy really stood out from the narrators in the other stories.
4/5

4. Polaris is Where You’ll Find Me by Jenny Han
I really really really liked this story…at first. The plot was interesting, I loved the main character, and I was anticipating an awesome ending. Unfortunately, the ending left me wanting more…a lot more…. I almost wish that Han could have made this into a full novel instead of a short story so that I could be more satisfied at the end. I have so many unanswered questions….
3/5

5. It’s a Yuletide Miracle, Charlie Brown by Stephanie Perkins
This is hands down my favourite story of the whole book! It was just so freaking adorable! Plus, I have a weakness for rugged nerdy guys in flannel shirts. Enough said.
5/5

6. Your Temporary Santa by David Levithan
This was one of those stories that was just “OK.” I didn’t love it, but I didn’t hate it either.
3/5

7. Krampuslauf by Holly Black
This story was certainly unique! I had never heard of Krampus before, so that was something new! Unfortunately, despite the fact that it clearly took place during the holidays, it failed to feel overly festive to me.
3/5

8. What the hell have you done Sophie Roth? by Gayle Forman
I really enjoyed the banter in this story! Sophie and Russell’s conversations were fun and entertaining! I also really liked how Hanukkah traditions were sprinkled throughout the story!
4/5

9. Beer Buckets and Baby Jesus by Myra McEntire
This was another story that I didn’t love, but didn’t hate either. It certainly felt festive, and the main character was entertaining, but there was just something missing that I can’t quite put my finger on.
3/5

10. Welcome to Christmas, CA by Kiersten White
This story was oh so cute! I actually felt all warm and fuzzy while reading it! The ending was absolute perfection! I also enjoyed the hint of magic that the author threw in! I would love to visit the Christmas Cafe in real life!
5/5

11. Star of Bethlehem by Ally Carter
This story reminded me of those Hallmark Christmas movies that are always on tv during the holidays. The plot is familiar to many other stories I’ve read/watched before, but it was nevertheless cute and entertaining!
4/5

12. The Girl Who Woke the Dreamer by Laini Taylor
This story has Laini Taylor written all over it! Some magic and folklore with a hint of darkness to it! It was very unique and different from all of the other stories in the book, and I really enjoyed it! The only problem I had with it was the fact that, like Holly Black’s story, it didn’t feel very festive despite taking place at Christmas. Nevertheless it was a beautiful story!
4/5

So there you have it! A rundown of how I would rate each of the stories in the book! I really did love My True Love Gave To Me, and I would LOVE for these authors to do a second short story collection for Christmas next year too!

One thought on “Review: My True Love Gave To Me

  1. Pingback: The Trouble With Anthologies « thelibrarylife

Leave a comment